45th BMW BERLIN-MARATHON on 16 September 2018

More events


Geoffrey Mutai and Mary Keitany Crowned 2011-2012 World Marathon Majors Series Champions


 The World Marathon Majors® (WMM) announced that Kenyans Geoffrey Mutai and Mary Keitany are the champions of the 2011-2012 World Marathon Majors Series. With the cancellation of the 2012 ING New York City Marathon, the 2011-2012 Series has concluded and there will be no additional points awarded. Mutai had already secured the Series title in advance of the New York race with 75 points tallied in winning the 2011 Boston Marathon, the 2011 ING New York City Marathon, and the 2012 BMW Berlin Marathon. Keitany secured the title with 65 points accumulated with victories at the 2011 and 2012 Virgin London Marathons, and a third place finish at the 2011 ING New York City Marathon. These athletes will split the $1 million prize purse.

Visit www.worldmarathonmajors.com to view the full leader board.


Out of respect for the situation in New York City, World Marathon Majors did not held its champions presentation and photo call on Monday, November 5.

Established in 2006, the World Marathon Majors is a race series comprised of the Boston, Virgin London, BMW Berlin, Bank of America Chicago, and ING New York City marathons. On November 2nd WMM announced the Tokyo marathon becoming the 6th member starting 2013.
In the years in which they are run, WMM also includes the IAAF World Championship and Olympic marathons. At the conclusion of a two-year cycle, WMM offers a $1 million prize purse to be split equally between the top male and female marathoners in the world. The inaugural 2006 – 2007 series launched at the Boston Marathon on April 17, 2006 and concluded on November 4, 2007 at the ING New York City Marathon. The 2013 – 2014 series begins with the Tokyo Marathon on February 24, 2013 and will conclude on November 2, 2014 at the ING New York City Marathon.


More news

2017-09-25 40,000 US Dollar for Charities at BMW
2017-09-24 Eliud Kipchoge wins dramatic race in Berlin with world leading time
2017-09-24 Marcel Hug and Manuela Schär take wheelchair races at BMW BERLIN-MARATHON
2017-09-22 Kenenisa Bekele: “I think I am ready"

More news can be found in our news archive

Sponsoren des 45th BMW BERLIN-MARATHON BMW Adidas Abbott Here Maps Wanda Group Erdinger Alkoholfrei TAITRA AOK