News Archive

News Archive

Athens Classic Marathon

The dress rehearsal for the Olympic Marathon takes place this Sunday, November

2, on the course which gave the race its name, from the village of Marathon to

Athens. And the East African men - Kenyans, Ethiopians, Tanzanians - look set

to dominate the Athens Classic Marathon, as they are expected to do in ten

months time for the Olympic race. The organisers recognise that they can

compete (yet!) with the New York Marathon, also on Sunday, in terms of race

numbers and prize money. But they have something that no other marathon in the

world can match - the original course.

Whether its dated from 490BC, when Philippides is supposed to have run to

Athens to announce a famous victory over the invading Persians on the field of

Marathon, or whether its the inaugural Olympic race 107 years ago, nothing can

compare with one of the toughest courses in the world. For the first Modern

Olympic race in 1896, the road from Marathon was little more than a dirt track.

It has gradually improved over the years, but the transformation since Athens

was awarded the Games has been startling. The whole road is being upgraded, and

there is a new stadium at the exit from Marathon, which serves as the warm-up

area for the race. The finish is still in the impressive marble Panathanaikon

Stadium, built for the 1896 Games. There is a record entry of 3,500 runners

from over 30 countries for this 21st birthday for the Athens Classic Marathon,

which has also involved a revamp, with Alpha Bank, one of the Olympic Games

biggest sponsors pouring in over a million euros to upgrade the historic race.

Defending champion Mark Saina is looking to continue the run of victories by

Kenyans in major marathons recently. But Alahmeyu Assefa of Ethiopia, with a

best of 2.07.44, and Bayo Zebedayo of Tanzania, with 2.08.51 are set to

challenge. Sonia Krolik of Germany, the bronze medallist from the European

Championships in Munich last year is going for her third consecutive victory in

the womens event.

Pat Butcher