News Archive

News Archive

Apr 2007

Inaugural World Marathon Majors Series Enters Stretch Run

A course record, nine national records, and some of the most exciting finishes in recent memory highlighted the inaugural season of the World Marathon Majors Series. Launched in 2006, the WMM united the world’s most prominent marathons—Boston, Flora London, real,-Berlin, The LaSalle Bank Chicago, and ING New York City—in a two-year series. As the world’s top marathoners vied for the early WMM Series lead, 45 athletes earned points—and positioned themselves for a run at their share of a $1...

Mar 2007

Great field entered for 111th Boston Marathon

In its 22nd year as principal sponsor of the Boston Marathon, John Hancock announced its elite team of 25 marathon runners from eight countries, including American Olympic bronze medalist Deena Kastor, defending champions Rita Jeptoo and Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot of Kenya and past champion Hailu Negussie of Ethiopia. Also in the field are the leaders of the World Marathon Majors Series. The race is set for Monday, April 16, 2007.

Jan 2007

Gebrselassie, Tergat and Baldini set for London

Some of the world’s greatest marathon runners will go head-to-head in a battle for the 2007 men’s Flora London Marathon title on Sunday April 22nd. Last year’s fastest marathon runner Haile Gebrselassie will take on his great rival and world record holder Paul Tergat of Kenya, plus Italy’s Olympic Champion Stefano Baldini, Morocco’s double World Champion Jaouad Gharib, and the reigning London champion Felix Limo of Kenya, in one of the highest quality men’s fields ever assembled for a major city...

Leaders of World Marathon Majors to run Boston Marathon

In its 22nd year as the major sponsor of the Boston Marathon, John Hancock Financial Services announced the return of two-time champion Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot of Kenya and last year’s runner-up Jelena Prokopcuka of Latvia for the 111th running of the race on April 16. Cheruiyot and Prokopcuka have chosen to compete in Boston to reinforce their commanding lead in the prestigious World Marathon Majors series and move closer to sharing the million-dollar prize awarded at the end of the year.

3,900 runners at the Berlin New Year’s Day Run

SCC RUNNING started off the running year 2007 at noon at the Brandenburg Gate with 3,900 participants. The runners joined in the festive atmosphere along the 4 k course without timekeeping or a competitive character at the 36th Berlin New Year’s Day Run. The course led primarily down and back the grand boulevard Unter den Linden to the Brandenburg Gate. The director of the ARD capital television studio, Werner Sonne, sent off the runners with the starting shot and then joined in himself. In lieu...