News Archive

News Archive

Chicago Marathon promises thrilling races


the men’s and women’s champions from the 2004 LaSalle Bank Chicago Marathon

will return to Chicago on Sunday to battle with a field of world-class athletes

to maintain their title. In only his third attempt at the marathon distance,

Kenyan Evans Rutto, 27,won his second consecutive LaSalle Bank Chicago Marathon

last year in 2:06:16. In the course of only two years, Rutto accomplished what

only two other marathon runners in the world, Khalid Khannouchi and Steve

Jones, had accomplished two consecutive LaSalle Bank Chicago Marathon wins.

Rutto is ready to accomplish victory number three.

After receiving amazing support last year from the estimated 1.2 millions

spectators that lined the course, Rutto is thrilled to be back attempting it